WEC – Eight races for the Super Season 2018/2019

22 September 2017

WEC – Eight races for the Super Season 2018/2019

Maranello, 22 September 2017 – The FIA World Endurance Championship had its new calendar ratified by the World Motor Sport Council and that’s means the new Super Season will go on as planned with eight races spanning two years. The biggest news is the return of a race to Sebring International Raceway in 2019 that will be known as the “1500 Miles of Sebring”.


Last winner Ferrari. The Florida airfield circuit will play host to the sixth round of the season on March 17, with a planned midnight start, two hours after the conclusion of the Twelve Hours of Sebring IMSA event. In an effort to differentiate it from the 12-hour classic, the WEC race will be contested over miles, although likely remaining around the same length. It’s the second time a race in Sebring is part of the WEC calendar: in 2012 Ferrari won the race with the AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia of Andrea Bertolini, Olivier Beretta and Marco Cioci.


Last stand Le Mans. The season will start at Spa-Francorchamps on May 5 while the second race of the year will be the 24 Hours of Le Mans. The championship will then move to Silverstone before a two-month stop to restart on October 21 at Fuji. The fifth race of the season will be at Shanghai in November and will be the last of 2018 but the championship will go on with the Sebring race before repeating the race at Spa-Francorchamps and the 24 Hours of Le Mans that will bring the Super Season to an end.


2018/19 WEC Schedule
May 5 — Spa-Francorchamps
June 16-17 — 24 Hours of Le Mans
Aug. 19 — Silverstone
Oct. 21 — Fuji
Nov. 18 — Shanghai
March 17 – 1500 Miles of Sebring
May 4 – Spa-Francorchamps
June 15-16 – 24 Hours of Le Mans